The Permit Company Logo
Trust Wave

User is not Logged In
Nevada Trip and Fuel Text Size:  A A  A
ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES

  Temporary Permit Procedure
Skip Navigation Links
Home
Contact Us
Create User Account
Login
Password Recovery
Privacy Policy
Temporary Permit Procedure
View AB 372 Notice and FAQ
View Motor Carrier Newsletter
View Trip Permit Q and A
View SB502 Notice
View Sample Permit

 
Temporary Permit Procedure

  1. Pursuant to NRS 706.521, any person has the option, in lieu of causing a commercial motor vehicle which has a declared gross weight in excess of 10,000 pounds to be registered pursuant to the provisions of NRS 482.482 or 706.841, of obtaining a temporary permit from a vendor authorized to issue permits pursuant to NRS 481.051 before entering the State. The fee for a temporary permit is $5 plus 15 cents for each mile the Department estimates the vehicle will travel within the State of Nevada during the effective period of the temporary permit and is not refundable.
  2. Pursuant to NRS 366.223, a special fuel user may, in lieu of causing a commercial motor vehicle that has a declared gross weight in excess of 26,000 pounds to be licensed pursuant to the provisions of NRS 366.220, obtain a temporary permit for special fuel from a vendor authorized to issue permits pursuant to NRS 481.051 before entering the State. The fee for a temporary permit for special fuel is $30 and is not refundable.
  3. Nevada temporary registration and temporary fuel permits shall be secured prior to entering Nevada. Administrative fines from $500 - $2,500 per violation, in addition to any criminal fines, are imposed on the registered owner and/or driver if a valid permit is not in the possession of the driver at the time of a vehicle stop.
  4. Nevada temporary permits are valid for 24 hours from the effective date and time for motor vehicles and 120 hours for buses. Permits do not provide in/out privileges.
  5. Nevada temporary permits are assessed the following fees:
    1. Temporary Registration: An administrative fee of $5.00 plus $0.15 per mile from the point of entry to the point of exit from the State of Nevada;
    2. Temporary Special Fuel Permit: A flat fee of $30.
    3. Temporary Registration and Temporary Special Fuel Permit: $5.00 plus $0.15 per mile for the Temporary Registration Permit plus $30 for the Temporary Special Fuel Permit from the point of entry to the point of exit from the State of Nevada.
    4. A separate line item must identify each permit and associated fees when a combo fuel and registration permit is purchased.
  6. Once the vehicle exits the State of Nevada, the temporary permit cannot be used to return to the State within the 24-hour or 120-hour time period of the permit.
  7. In consideration for this service, The Permit Company is authorized by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles to charge a processing fee to the permit purchaser.